Secretary Geithner Names David Lebryk Commissioner of FMS

The US Department of the Treasury has announced that David A. Lebryk has been selected as commissioner of Treasury’s Financial Management Service (FMS). Lebryk has served as deputy commissioner since January 2008, and since April 2009, has served as acting commissioner following commissioner Judy Tillman’s retirement.

FMS is primarily responsible for the collection of government revenues, payment of federal benefits, such as social security and veterans’ benefits, and tax refunds, debt collection and government-wide accounting.

As commissioner, Lebryk will provide leadership, policy direction and guidance for FMS’ financial management programmes, including payments, collections, debt collection, and government-wide accounting and financial reporting. He will also oversee a daily cash flow of more than US$67bn and government-wide programmes related to credit and cash management.

Prior to his appointment at FMS, Lebryk served as the senior career executive at the US Mint. From October 2002 to December 2007, he served in the capacity of deputy director, and from August 2005 through September 2006, he was the acting director of the US Mint. There he had responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the world’s largest manufacturer of coins, medals and coin products.

Before joining the US Mint, Lebryk held the position of deputy assistant secretary for fiscal operations and policy at the Treasury Department, where he oversaw the development and implementation of policies and programmes relating to the government’s cash management, debt financing, investment and administration of trust funds, payments and collections.

Lebryk also has served as acting deputy assistant secretary for human resources for the Treasury Department. He has served as an advisor to the deputy secretary of the Treasury and to three under secretaries for domestic finance.


Related reading