EACT Elects Richard Raeburn as New Chairman

The EACT has elected Richard Raeburn as its chairman. The decision was made at the EACT’s meeting in Barcelona on 4 October. Richard is currently chief executive of the UK’s Association of Corporate Treasurers (ACT) and will be retiring from that role at the end of 2008. The EACT brings together national treasury associations from across Europe. Its work has been significantly concentrated on the issues arising from the single market for financial services within the European Union. Richard Raeburn said: “At a time of great uncertainty in global financial markets and economies, there is an enormous opportunity and need for the EACT to broaden its representation of the treasury profession in Europe; this will help those working in this field to play their vital role in managing the liquidity, funding, risk and corporate finance for both the largest European companies and the substantial SME sector”. Richard takes over the chairmanship from Olivier Brissaud, president of ATEB, the Belgium treasury association, who will remain as the EACT board member for European Affairs. Richard added: “Olivier has devoted enormous energy to leading the EACT and I am delighted to have the opportunity to build on this strong foundation”.


Related reading